ChatGPT-4 and Bing Predict 2023 Winners of Nobel Prize in Economics

Zachary Paul
2 min readOct 7, 2023

--

Well, it’s that time of year again. My favorite time of year when someone on the Internet informs me that the Nobel Prize in economics is not a real Nobel Prize. It never gets old. And on Monday, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel will be awarded to 1–3 very deserving individuals for a lifetime of scholarship that pushed forward the field of economics monumental ways that will likely be felt for a hundred if not more years.

Two years ago, using only my wits, I predicted the 2021 winners. While I didn’t get it completely right, I basically did when I listed these four possibilities:

  1. Josh Angrist and David Card for their work on empirical labor economics
  2. Josh Angrist, David Card and Orley Ashenfelter for their work on empirical labor economics
  3. Guido Imbens for his work on causal inference
  4. Guido Imbens and Don Rubin for their work on causal inference

2021 Economics Nobel Prize predictions

SCOTT CUNNINGHAM

·

OCTOBER 5, 2021

I grew up loving all major awards, be it the Academy Awards or the awards given out at the end of Little League baseball season. So obviously when I became an economist, that enthusiasm would continue to our awards, such as the John Bates Clark Award and the Nobel Prize in economics. I love everything about the week we celebrate someone or some group of people’s contributions to our science, because I love economics and I love economists. I even love the annual tradition of someone telling me it isn’t a real award. Every year, I act surprised and say to them “What? Go on, tell me more.” And it never gets old.

--

--